Saturday, October 14, 2017

Class 4: The German Middle Class - Recommended Recordings

Mendelssohn Symphony no. 3 "Scottish":
Bronze:  Orchestra of the Age of the Enlightenment/Sir Roger Norrington (note to blog readers: Shut the fuck up I don't want to hear it...)
Place: Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra/Riccardo Chailly "Original Version": (not all that different)

Mendelssohn: Symphony no. 4 "Italian"
Gold: Berlin Philharmonic/Klaus Tennstedt (scroll down and it's in the 10th row)
Bronze:Heidelberg Symphony/Thomas Fey (all in the first two rows)
Place: Vienna Philharmonic/John Eliot Gardiner "revised version" (the last 3 movements are very different)

Mendelssohn: Symphony no. 5 "Reformation"

Schumann: Symphony no. 1 "Spring" 

Schumann: Symphony no. 4
Bronze: Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment/Sir Simon Rattle (original version, very different) 
HM: NBC Symphony/Bruno Walter (Mahler re-orchestration, not hugely different)

Schumann: Symphony no. 2
Place: Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra/Riccardo Chailly (Mahler re-orchestration, not hugely different)

Schumann: Symphony no. 3 "Rhennish"
Bronze: Dusseldorf Symphony/Mario Venzago (scroll down and you'll see the other movements on the right sidebar)

No comments:

Post a Comment